Board of Directors

The Board of Directors, on behalf of the EHMA members, govern how we achieve our vision of excellence in health management for a healthy Europe. They do this by ensuring EHMA achieves appropriate results at an appropriate cost; and avoids unacceptable actions and situations.

The EHMA Board maintain a governance policy manual to define how EHMA is to be governed, the strategic purpose of the EHMA, the role of the Board, how they delegate their authority, and how they manage risks. In the interest of transparency and best charitable practice the EHMA Governance Manual is made available to the public here.

The Board report annually to the Member’s Annual General Assembly. The Board encourage all organisations and individuals interested in health management to become a member of EHMA, and attend Europe’s preeminent conference on health management, the EHMA Annual Conference.

Prof Sandra C. Buttigieg

University of Malta, Malta

Dr Axel Kaehne
Edge Hill University, UK

Dr Alexandre Lourenço
Portuguese Association of Hospital Managers (APAH), Portugal

Prof Todorka Kostadinova
Varna Medical University, Bulgaria

Prof Federico Lega
University of Milan, Italy

Dr Teppo Heikkilä
Helsinki University Hospital, Finland

Dr Eszter Kovacs
Semmelweis University, Hungary

Prof Ann Mahon

Prof Ann Mahon
University of Manchester, United Kingdom


  • Dr Axel Kaehne, United Kingdom, 2020-2022
  • Prof. Federico Lega, Italy, 2018 – 2020
  • Mr. Anders Wahlstedt, Norway, 2015-2018
  • Ms. Marianne Olsson, Sweden, 2011-2015
  • Prof. Aad de Roo, The Netherlands, 2010-2012
  • Prof. Naomi Chambers, United Kingdom, 2007-2010
  • Dr. Laraine Joyce, Ireland, 2005-2007
  • Dr. Robert F. Koning, The Netherlands, 2003-2005
  • Prof. Joan Higgins, United Kingdom, 2001-2003
  • Dr. Peter Baeckström, Sweden, 1999-2001
  • Prof. Tom van der Grinten, The Netherlands, 1997-1999
  • Prof. David J. Hunter, United Kingdom, 1995-1997
  • Dr. José Manuel Freire, Spain, 1993-1995
  • Prof. Mats Brommels, Finland, 1991-1993
  • Prof. Klaus-Dirk Henke, Germany, 1989-1991
  • Prof. Dr. Henk van Andel, The Netherlands, 1987-1989
  • Dr. Robert Maxwell, United Kingdom, 1985-1987
  • Prof. Jose Caldeira da Silva, Portugal, 1982-1985
  • Prof. Harmen Tiddens, The Netherlands, 1981-1982
  • Prof. Dr. Jan E. Blanpain, Belgium, 1979-1981
  • Mr. Colm Ó Nualláin, Ireland, 1977-1979